References Museum

Experience Culture

Museums and Exhibitions

Berlin Medical History Museum of the Charite

“Auf Messers Schneide”

Audioguide permanent exhibition and temporary exhibition

The surgeon Ferdinand Sauerbruch between Medicine and Myth Sauerbruch – a myth:

Like no other doctor, Ferdinand Sauerbruch (1875-1951) is known as the quintessential surgeon. At the same time, he is a man of two different minds. In the operating theatre he gives his all, treating everyone without distinction. As a general practitioner and research consultant during the National Socialist era, he was also aware of the practice of criminal human experiments in concentration camps and did not raise his voice against it. How did that go together? Who was this person? How did he become an ambivalent idol? The exhibition ‘On the edge of a knife’ aims at ‘the whole sour break’.

Berlin Medical History Museum of the Charite

“Scheintot”

Audioguide permanent exhibition and temporary exhibition

Around 1800, science begins to doubt the clearness of death. All over Europe people are afraid of being buried alive – soon a real hysteria about “apparent death” develops. The exhibition “Scheinot – On the uncertainty of death and the fear of being buried alive” shows how doctors and scientists sought to redefine the border between life and death. They carried out bizarre experiments with electricity and built mechanical rescue apparatus for graves and coffins. In specially built mortuaries, people waited for signs of life from the dead until decay brought certainty over death.

Special Exhibition Wesel and the Niederrheinlande
Treasure tell the story(s)

 

Almost 350 years of common history connect Westphalia and the Rhineland with Brandenburg Prussia!

The exhibition brings to life the large, now trans-border cultural area of the Lower Rhine region, which included the Lower Rhine, the Netherlands, Flanders and Brabant.

For many centuries in the Middle Ages and in Early Modern Times, this area formed the identity of the people. The transfer of Ideas, Art, commercial goods and also of people was the daily routine here. This exhibition tells their stories along many important items.
Much of this is already reflected in a large panorama of the Great Market of the Hanseatic City of Wesel in the 16th century, which marks the beginning of the exhibition.

Referenzen Museum

Erlebniswelt Kultur

Museen und Ausstellungen

Berliner medizinhistorisches Museum der Charite

„Auf Messers Schneide“

Audioguide Dauerausstellung und Sonderausstellung

Der Chirurg Ferdinand Sauerbruch zwischen Medizin und Mythos Sauerbruch – ein Mythos:

Wie kein zweiter Arzt gilt Ferdinand Sauerbruch (1875-1951) als Inbegriff des Chirurgen. Gleichzeitig scheiden sich an ihm die Geister. Im Operationssaal gibt er alles, behandelt jeden ohne Unterschied. Als Generalarzt und Forschungsgutachter wusste er in der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus aber auch um die Praxis verbrecherischer Menschenversuche im KZ und erhob seine Stimme dagegen nicht. Wie ging das zusammen? Wer war dieser Mensch? Wie wurde er zum zwiespältigen Idol? Die Ausstellung ‚Auf Messers Schneide‘ zielt auf ‚den ganzen Sauerbruch‘.

Berliner medizinhistorisches Museum der Charite

„Scheintot“

Audioguide Dauerausstellung und Sonderausstellung

Um 1800 beginnt die Wissenschaft, die Eindeutigkeit des Todes in Zweifel zu ziehen. In ganz Europa haben Menschen Angst davor, lebendig begraben zu werden – bald entsteht eine regelrechte Hysterie um den „Scheintod“. Die Ausstellung „Scheintot – Über die Ungewissheit des Todes und die Angst, lebendig begraben zu werden“ zeigt, wie Ärzte und Naturwissenschaftler die Grenze von Leben und Tod neu zu bestimmen suchten. Sie führten bizarre Experimente mit Elektrizität durch und bauten mechanische Rettungsapparate für Grab und Sarg. In eigens errichteten Leichenhäusern wartete man so lange auf Lebenszeichen der Aufgebahrten, bis Fäulnis Sicherheit über den Tod brachte.

Sonderausstellung Wesel und die Niederrheinlande
Schätze die Geschichte(n) erzählen

 

Fast 350 Jahre gemeinsamer Geschichte verbinden Westfalen und das Rheinland mit Brandenburg Preußen!
Die Ausstellung lässt den großen, heute grenzüberschreitenden Kulturraum der Niederrheinlande lebendig werden, der den Unteren Niederrhein, die Niederlande, Flandern und Brabant umfasste.

Für viele Jahrhunderte in Mittelalter und Früher Neuzeit prägte dieser Raum die Identität der Menschen. Der Transfer von Ideen, Kunst, Handelsgütern und auch von Menschen war hier an der Tagesordnung. Ihre Geschichten erzählt diese Ausstellung entlang vieler bedeutender Objekte.
Vieles von dem spiegelt sich bereits in einem Großpanorama des Großen Marktes der Hansestadt Wesel im 16. Jahrhundert wieder, das den Anfang der Ausstellung bildet.